Gorey & North Wexford Website.
Ballycanew is a rural village on the Gorey to Wexford road. The Ounavarra river which passes through the village, this has a great reputation for fishing. This picturesque village was once known as Ballyconway. An old Irish name for Ballycanew is 'Baile Gan Uaigh' - Town without a grave.
In the past the Furney family owned a mill, built in in 1589 and demolished in 1962. The old creamery was once a thriving industry, with an average of 2.5 million gallons of milk supplied per annum. 'Papa Rhodes' restaurant is now situated in the old creamery.
In June 1965, a bronze age grave was discovered in the Ballycanew Parish. There was a food vessel slightly damaged and broken human bones. The exact date of the burial is uncertain, but is probably more than 3,000 years old.